EducationNewsPolitics & Government

Nashua-Plainfield Grad Named to School Board 

A Nashua-Plainfield graduate is the newest member of the district’s school board. 

At this week’s regular School Board meeting, Lara Lawrence was selected to fill the vacancy created when former board member Jeff Ulrichs announced at the February board meeting he would be moving out of the school district. Since Ulrichs was one of three board members that represented Chickasaw County, his replacement must also reside in Chickasaw County.

Superintendent Todd Liechty says Lawrence moved her family back to Nashua in the last year or so and has children in the school district. 

Adding Lawrence brings the school board back to its full capacity of five members, with Chris Hagen, Laura Folkerts and Lawrence representing Chickasaw County and Patrick Lentz and Cody Jensen representing Bremer, Butler and Floyd counties.

Eligible electors in the N-P school district could’ve filed a petition requiring the vacancy be filled by special election, but none was submitted by the 4 p.m. deadline last Friday.


Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA
Back to top button