NewsPolitics & Government

New Congressional, Legislative Maps Shifts Floyd County Locations

Thursday, Iowa lawmakers approved the second map for new Congressional and state legislative districts drawn up by the Legislative Services Agency.

Floyd and Chickasaw counties currently are part of the easternmost section of U.S House District 4. The new map will move both counties into the new U.S. House District 2 covering much of northeast Iowa. 

The latest LSA map puts most of Floyd County into Iowa House District 58, along with all of Chickasaw County and most of Bremer County. The northwest section of Floyd County will become part of House District 60, along with all of Mitchell and Worth counties and the northwestern part of Cerro Gordo county.

Most of Floyd County will remain part of Iowa Senate District 29 along with all of Chickasaw, Butler and Bremer counties. The northwestern corner of Floyd county will become part of the new Iowa Senate District 30 along with all of Cerro Gordo, Mitchell and Worth counties.


Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA

Back to top button