Three North Iowa Counties to Receive State Assistance for Last Week’s Tornadoes

Bremer, Fayette and Winneshiek counties have been included in Governor Kim Reynolds’ disaster proclamation in the wake of the tornadoes that rolled through north Iowa last Wednesday.

Bremer, Fayette, and Winneshiek counties will be allowed to use state resources to respond and recover from the damage left by the severe weather July 14. A tornado in the Waverly area caused significant damage in Bremer County, including downed power lines and trees. Damage was also reported at Oelwein High School and other locations in Fayette County.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program can give up to $5,000 for some eligible households for food, repairs, clothing, and other expenses. Residents have 45 days to submit a claim. 

Residents can also apply within 180 days for The Disaster Case Management Program with can also help residents with disaster-related hardship, injury, or adverse conditions.


Mark Pitz

News Director
Back to top button
95.1 The Bull