Special Election Scheduled in Nashua

Nashua, IA – The Nashua City Council saw two members resign from their seats this fall. That led to one candidate who had finished third in the voting get elected to a seat. Residents of Nashua petitioned to have that person removed, and now a special election will be held later this month.

Kyle Lane and Brenda Roberts both resigned from their seats in the fall. The special election will be held on Jan. 23 with polls opening at noon and closing at 8 p.m.

Three of the four candidates were on the ballot in November. Former mayor of Nashua, Angelina Dietz, was not going to run for reelection to be mayor. She will, however, be entering her name for a city council spot.

The other three candidates are Rolland Cagley, Angelina Dietz, Harold Kelleher III and Terry McGinnis.

Early voting will be open when the ballots arrive at the Chickasaw County Auditor’s Office. Due to a new Iowa law, voters must bring a valid identification to the polls to vote.


Radio Iowa

For the latest state news, head to!
Back to top button