Governor seeks disaster declaration for 19 Iowa counties

Des Moines, Iowa (AP) – The Iowa governor’s office has asked the White House to issue a presidential disaster declaration for 19 Iowa counties that suffered damage from severe storms and flooding in late September.

The office of Gov. Terry Branstad said Friday that the counties are Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Howard, Linn, Mitchell, Winneshiek and Wright. Those counties sustained damage from storms Sept. 21-23.

The presidential declaration would provide federal help under the Public Assistance Program. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged facilities and may include debris removal.

About Chris Berg 1200 Articles
Chris was born in Webster City and raised in Charles City. As a young kid, he would always be caught singing along to songs on the radio. He says he's good at karaoke but we think otherwise. ;) In his free time, he enjoys beginning new projects at home and hardly ever finishing them. Chris lives in Charles City with his wife Vicki and a daughter Brynlee.