State disaster declaration now covers 25 Iowa counties

flood 1

Des Moines, Iowa – More than two dozen Iowa counties have now been declared state disaster areas due to flooding that began September 21st.

Governor Terry Branstad has added Clayton and Winneshiek counties to the list, bringing the total to 25 counties that are eligible for state resources in the flood recovery and cleanup effort.

Earlier this month, Branstad said he expects some of the hardest hit counties in northern and eastern Iowa will qualify for a FEDERAL disaster declaration. THAT would clear the way for federal dollars to fix damage to roads, bridges and other public structures.

In late September, President Obama issued a disaster declaration for eight Iowa counties to deal with the expenses from flash flooding and straight-line wind damage that occurred in late August.

That declaration covers Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Floyd, Howard, Mitchell, and Winneshiek counties.

The 25 counties that Governor Branstad has declared state disaster areas due to recent (since Sep. 21) flooding include Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Howard, Jones, Linn, Louisa, Mitchell, Muscatine, Story, Winneshiek, Worth and Wright.

About Chris Berg 1200 Articles
Chris was born in Webster City and raised in Charles City. As a young kid, he would always be caught singing along to songs on the radio. He says he's good at karaoke but we think otherwise. ;) In his free time, he enjoys beginning new projects at home and hardly ever finishing them. Chris lives in Charles City with his wife Vicki and a daughter Brynlee.